Northern Ireland junior doctors committee

The Northern Ireland junior doctors committee represents and gathers the opinions of junior doctors in Northern Ireland. Find out more about our members, priorities and meetings.

Location: Northern Ireland
Audience: Junior doctors
Last reviewed: 26 April 2022
Voting card article illustration

​The NIJDC gathers the opinions of junior doctors from health and social care trusts or the Public Health Agency within Northern Ireland. We represent junior doctors in Northern Ireland to the UKJDC.


Our priorities

  • To communicate the activities of the NIJDC and UKJDC to junior doctors in Northern Ireland.
  • To promote the policies of JDC.
  • To encourage junior doctors in Northern Ireland to take part in the medico-political process.
  • To help junior doctors take action against their employers, as may seem necessary by the NIJDC.
  • To liaise with the BMA (NI) office and the industrial relations officers of the BMA.
  • To monitor and ensure, to the best of our ability, the enforcement of current national agreements regarding terms and conditions of service at a regional level.
  • Fair interpretation of junior doctors' contracts in NI.
  • That medical posts established within NI are in accordance with such workforce objectives as may exist from time to time.
  • #TakeControl campaign - We want to encourage junior doctors to better understand their workplace rights and entitlements. Our infographic outlines some key workplace rights and how you can protect them.


Our people

Chair: Dr Andrew Wilson

Deputy chairs:
Dr Edwina Hegarty (Education, training and other issues)
Dr Maysa Salman (Negotiations and issues relating to terms and conditions, the new deal, the EWTD and revalidation).


Benedict Rafferty
Susan Maguire
Niamh Campbell
Niall Doherty
Edwina Hegarty
Conal Corr
Rheinallt Morgan
Jo Yve Wong
Niamh Campbell
Christine Clarke
Tanya Conway
John Vincent
Aoife Daly

Western Trust
Opeyemi Adebayo Makanjuola
Gareth Smyth
Maysah Salman (Deputy Chair)
Caoimhe Marie Eilis Tennyson
Jennifer Salmon
Andrew Wilson (Chair)
Conor Trevor Patrick Peace

Northern Trust
Dimitrios Angelou
Mohammed Mamoun Ibrahim Hassan
Olivia McConaghie

South Eastern Trust
Molly Kerr
Christian Lloyd Palmer
Mohamed Salah Abdelkarim Shirazy
Leonard Leader

Southern Trust
Martin Leer
Zi Wei Adrian Lim
Daniel MacElhatton
Jun Khai Nicholas Yeo
Barry Kerr

Equality article illustration
Develop your skills as a committee member

Take part in one of our free courses designed to give you the right skills to:

  • break down equality and inclusion bias (CPD-accredited)
  • value difference and inclusivity
  • live our BMA behaviour principles.
Find out more

Our meetings

We meet four times a year to discuss the issues that are most important to doctors in training.

These meetings are open to members of the NIJDC. Non-voting committee members can also come along and participate as part of the BMA committee visitors scheme.

Meeting dates:

  • The first meeting of the NI junior doctors committee will take place on Thursday 22 September 2022 at 1.00pm (to include lunch)

For more information, emails us or call 028 9026 9666.


How to join

There are many advantages to becoming involved in our committees. You can actively influence BMA policy-making and negotiations, represent your colleagues' voices and develop your leadership skills. 

Each committee has a few routes to becoming an elected member. In the case of NIJDC, this is: 

Direct elections
  • Seats/term - every two years, elections for 36 seats on NIJDC take place for a two-session term.
  • Timeline - elections are usually held in July or August.
  • Eligibility - all junior doctors who are BMA members and working in a Northern Ireland health and social care trust are eligible to stand and vote in this election.

The election section below is kept up to date with details about any running elections, so make sure you keep checking it throughout the year.  



NI JDC elections 2022 to 2024

The junior doctor committee in Northern Ireland is holding elections for the following seats for a two-session term:

  • 37 voting members. 


To stand or vote in this election, you must:

  • be a BMA member 
  • be a member of the electorate of NI
  • be able to communicate with and gather the views of her/his constituency as and when necessary
  • have a BMA online account.

Nominations and casting your vote

  • Nominations - from 12pm on Monday 2 May 2022 to 12pm on Tuesday 17 May 2022.
  • Ballot - from 2pm on Wednesday 18 May 2022 to 12pm on Friday 27 May 2022.

Read our guide on how to use our online system for elections

Take part in the election


Results will be announced shortly after they close on the election portal.

If you have any questions about these elections, please email [email protected]


Get in touch

If you are interested in finding out more about the work of the NIJDC, email us or call 028 9026 9666.