Northern Ireland consultants committee

The Northern Ireland consultants committee represents all consultants working in Northern Ireland. Find out more about our priorities, meetings and membership.

Location: Northern Ireland
Audience: Consultants
Updated: Wednesday 6 January 2021
Voting card article illustration

The NICC (Northern Ireland consultants committee) is a standing committee of the BMA and represents all consultants working in Northern Ireland.


Our priorities

Championing patients, advancing healthcare, valuing colleagues

We have produced a strategy to help focus the work we are doing to improve the working lives of consultants in Northern Ireland. Our strategy has two main themes; structural or overarching changes that are needed within our health system to make sure patients access the right services at the right time; and action related specifically to consultants - actions that value and recognise the consultant workforce and make Northern Ireland a place where consultants want to build their career.

Read our strategy


Our people

The committee includes 36 voting members. The NICC feeds directly into the UKCC (consultants committee), which represents all senior hospital doctors UK wide.

Chair: Dr John D Woods 
Deputy chair: Dr David Farren

Executive subcommittee

The NICC has an executive subcommittee, which co-ordinates the NICC strategic approach to policy issues, acts as a core negotiating body for the consultant body in Northern Ireland and acts as a further link between the NICC and the regional LNC forum.

It also considers and, where appropriate, acts upon urgent matters between meetings of the NICC.


Belfast Trust
Dr John Declan Woods
Dr Brian Martin Mcclements
Dr Rina James
Dr George David Gardiner
Dr Edmond Colin Goldsmith
Dr Dearbhail Aine Lewis
Mr Nikolay Angelov Peev
Dr Graham Peter Smyth

Northern Trust
Dr Anish
Dr Manmadha Kumar Kada Venkata
Dr David Farren

South Eastern Trust
Dr Stephen Moore
Dr Michael Joseph Mcparland
Dr Mugilan Anandarajan
Dr Ralph Nigel Roberts
Dr Eiad Mohammed Awad Qudairat

Southern Trust
Dr Catherine Anne Carson
Dr Sara Ann Hedderwick
Dr Colin Brett Winter
Dr Ruth Thornbury

Western Trust
Dr Salman Atiq Siddiqui
Dr Vinanti Cherian-Mcivor
Dr John Thomas Doherty
Dr Iris Ursula Menninger
Dr John Gerard Mackin

Our meetings

We meet four times a year to discuss the latest issues affecting consultant doctors in Northern Ireland.

These meetings are open to members of the Northern Ireland consultants committee only. Non-voting committee members can participate as part of the BMA committee visitors scheme.

Meeting dates:

  • Wednesday 3 March 2021, 2pm

  • Thursday 17 June 2021, 10am.

All meetings take place either virtually or at:

BMA Northern Ireland
16 Cromac Place
Ormeau Road



Elections to the Northern Ireland consultants committee are now closed.

The next elections will take place in 2021. 


Get in touch

If you are interested in finding out more about the work of the NICC, please contact Patricia Mills at [email protected].