Welsh council

As a standing committee of the BMA, Welsh council focuses on all issues relevant to the medical profession and healthcare in Wales; formulating policy and ensuring it is implemented.

Location: Wales
Audience: All doctors
Last reviewed: 11 November 2021
Voting card article illustration

The Welsh council ensures the voices of the medical profession in Wales are heard.


Our priorities

The focus of the BMA Welsh council follows the three key aims of the UK council. These are:

  • keeping the public healthy
  • valuing current and future doctors and supporting them and how they work in a pressurised environment
  • health services that deliver excellent care and address current pressures.


Our people

Chair: Dr David Bailey 

Deputy chair: Dr Iona Collins



David Bailey
Deputy chair
Iona Collins
Representatives for consultants
Kinnari Mehta
Amol Pandit
Iona Collins
Philip Banfield (WCC chair)

Representatives for GPs
David Bailey
Gareth Oelmann
Om Aggarwal

Representatives for junior doctors
Aleena Haider/Evan Sun (WJDC co-chairs)
Josie Cheetham

Representatives for SAS doctors
Raj Nirula
Anser Anwar
Julie Jones
Ali Nazir (WSASC chair)

Representatives for students
Gwenllian Roberts
Ellen Davies (WMSC chair)

Representatives for public health doctors
Stephen Monaghan
Michael Thomas (WCPHM chair)

Representatives for retired members
Farookh Jishi
Michael Rees


Our meetings

Welsh council meets four times a year, with meetings open to Welsh council members.

Meeting dates:

  • Thursday 7 October 2021
  • Wednesday 26 January 2022
  • Wednesday 30 March 2022
  • Thursday 16 June 2022

All meetings take place between 10.30am and 4.30pm and are held virtually or at:

BMA Cymru Wales
5th Floor
2 Caspian Point
Caspian Way
Cardiff Bay
CF10 4DQ

The executive committee of Welsh council or chair's group (comprising the chair of Welsh council, and craft committee chairs) meet on an ad hoc basis to deal with urgent business between these times.


Our terms of reference

To consider any and all matters of specific relevance to the medical profession and healthcare in Wales. Welsh council shall determine policy and action where the application is exclusive to Wales.

Welsh council (whether carrying delegated powers or not) shall take all reasonable steps to implement policy decisions of the association and no action shall be taken by Welsh council or any sub-committee, which may affect materially the interests of another part of the profession without full prior consultation with the parties concerned.

Members ex-officio

With voting rights: the chairmen of the Welsh consultants committee, general practitioner committee Wales, Welsh staff grades and associate specialists committee, Welsh committee for public health medicine and community health, Welsh junior doctors committee, Welsh medical academic staff committee, forum of Welsh local negotiating committees, and Welsh medical students committee.

Without voting rights: the president of the BMA, chairman of UK council, chairman of the representative body, the treasurer and members of UK council whose electoral zone is Wales, limited to the duration of their UK office and while having a registered address in Wales.

Members otherwise elected or appointed

With voting rights: 15 directly-elected members who shall, by the application of electoral constraints, broadly reflect the distribution of the profession in Wales between:

  • those engaged or employed wholly or mainly in the following nine professional groupings: general practice, hospital consultants, staff grade doctors and associate specialists, doctors in training grades, academic medicine and/or research, medical students, public and community health medicine, retired members, and armed forces members plus those members in practice but not covered by the other specified professional groupings; and
  • the three principal geographical regions of Wales, namely North Wales, Mid and West Wales, and South East Wales; together with up to three co-opted members who shall offer Welsh council such ongoing expertise that cannot otherwise be met by the ex-officio and directly elected membership.

Without voting rights: a number, to be determined by Welsh council, of observer members.

How to join the Welsh council

There are many advantages to becoming involved in our committees. You can actively influence BMA policy-making and negotiations, represent your colleagues' voices and develop your leadership skills. 

Each committee has a few routes to becoming an elected member. In the case of Welsh council, these are: 

Direct elections
  • Seats/term - every three years, elections for 15 seats on Welsh council take place for a three-session term.
  • Timeline - elections are usually held prior the start of the session.
  • Eligibility - all BMA members who work and live in Wales are eligible to stand and vote in this election.

The election section below is kept up to date with details about any running elections, so make sure you keep checking it throughout the year.  



Elections to Welsh council have now concluded.


Get in touch

We are happy to answer any queries, give advice or help on any matter related to Welsh council.

Write to:
BMA Cymru Wales
5th Floor, 2 Caspian Point
Caspian Way
Cardiff Bay
CF10 4DQ

Telephone: 029 2047 4646
Fax: 029 2047 4600
Email: [email protected]