Professional regulation committee

The PRC (professional regulation committee) considers and reports on matters relating to professional regulation for doctors and medical students. 

Location: UK
Audience: All doctors
Last reviewed: 16 June 2022
Voting card article illustration

The PRC (professional regulation committee) represents the views of the profession and engages with key stakeholders such as the GMC, the Medical Practitioner Tribunal Service, the Department of Health and Social Care, and the Professional Standards Authority. 


Our priorities

The main priorities of the committee include:

  • reflecting the profession’s views on professional regulation, including on matters relating to GMC registration, GMC standards such as good medical practice, revalidation, GMC referrals and fitness to practise processes, and the GMC’s role in overseeing UK medical education and training
  • working with key stakeholders to drive improvements in professional regulation to make it fairer, less burdensome and more efficient.


Our people

Chair: Dr Mark Corcoran
Deputy co-chairs: Dr Jeeves Wijesuriya and Becky Bates 


Our meetings

The committee meets three times a year with meeting dates determined at least 6 weeks in advance. Meetings usually take place in February, July and November.

For details on upcoming meeting dates, please email us at [email protected]

All meetings take place virtually or at:

BMA House
Tavistock Square

How to join

There are many advantages to becoming involved in our committees. You can actively influence BMA policy-making and negotiations, represent your colleagues' voices and develop your leadership skills. 

Each committee has a few routes to becoming an elected member. In the case of the PRC, these are:

ARM elections
  • Seats/term - every year, elections for 3 seats on PRC take place for a one-session term.
  • Timeline - the nomination period opens a month before ARM and voting closes a few days after ARM.
  • Eligibility - all BMA members can stand for election but only ARM delegates can vote.

Of the nominees, BMA council elects a further two seats for a one-session term.

Appointments from other BMA committees

One representative from each of the following:

  • consultants committee (CC)
  • general practitioners committee (GPC)
  • junior doctors committee (JDC)
  • medical academic staff committee (MASC)
  • medical students committee (MSC)
  • private practice committee (PPC)
  • public health medicine committee (PHMC)
  • retired members committee (RMC)
  • staff associate specialist and specialty doctors committee (SASC)

The election section below is kept up to date with details about any running elections, so make sure you keep checking it throughout the year.

If you wish to join the PRC via any of the relevant committees, please see any running elections on their respective pages.



ARM elections 2022 to 2023

The professional regulation committee is holding elections for 3 seats for a one-session term.

Of the nominees, BMA council will elect a further two seats for a one-session term.


To stand in this election, you must:

  • be a BMA member 
  • have a BMA online account.

Only ARM delegates can vote in this election.

Nominations and casting your vote

  • Nominations - from 12pm on Friday 29 April 2022 to 10am on Monday 27 June 2022.
  • Ballot - from 2pm on Monday 27 June 2022 to 12pm on Wednesday 29 June 2022.


Results will be announced from Friday 1 July 2022 at 5pm on the election portal.

Read our guide on how to use our online system for elections

Take part in the elections

If you have any questions about these elections, please email [email protected]


Get in touch

If you have any questions or are interested in finding out more about the work of the PRC, please email [email protected].