Organisation committee overview

The organisation committee advises on matters affecting the structure, function and representativeness of the BMA.

Location: UK
Audience: All doctors
Updated: Thursday 3 November 2022
Voting card article illustration
Krishan Aggarwal Organisation committee Jan 2021 video cover
Organisation committee overview by committee chair Krishan Aggarwal

The organisation committee is responsible for the oversight of the governance, structure and function of the association and has full delegated authority from UK council.

The articles and bye-laws are the rule book of the association.

The articles generally establish the powers and responsibilities of key bodies and members in the BMA. The bye-laws are subsidiary to the articles and generally describe the working methods of bodies and members.


What we do

  • Advise on matters affecting the structure, function and representativeness of the association and to liaise with other association bodies undertaking similar activities.
  • Advise on the constitutions, duties and powers of the association’s meetings, councils, boards, forums and committees, including responsibility for approval of standing orders and to recommend consequential amendments to the articles and bye-laws where appropriate.
  • Advise on the establishment of new committees, their duties and powers and constitutions, and on the disbanding and merging of committees and to recommend consequential amendments to the articles and bye-laws.
  • Advise on the interpretation or alteration of the existing, or the adoption of new, articles and bye-laws.
  • Consider and act on matters relating to divisions and regional councils, including the allocation of grants.

  • Make recommendations on the conferring of the association's awards and honours.

  • Advise council annually on the allocation and distribution of seats on the RB (representative body) including those minority groups to be invited to appoint representatives to the ARM (annual representatives meeting).

  • The award of the association’s gold medal for distinguished merit.


Our people

The voting committee members are elected from the ARM and UK council.

Chair: Krishan Aggarwal
Deputy chair: Jeeves Wijesuriya


(c) indicates the member is a member of BMA council.

Ex-officio members (without voting rights)

council chair, Professor Philp Banfield (c)
chair of the representative body, Latifa Patel (c)
treasurer, Trevor Pickersgill (c)
deputy council chair, Emma Runswick (c)

Conference of honorary secretaries 2022-23 Chair - Samira Anane

Elected by the representative body
Rebecca Acres
Lucy-Jane Davis
Anil Jain (c)
Kevin O’Kane
Jeeves Wijesuriya

Elected by council
Rob Barnett (c)
Sarah Hallett

The conference of honorary secretaries 2022 Deputy chair, John Hughes (c) as an observer at the request of the honorary secretaries conference.

Award and honours subcommittee members

The awards and honours subcommittee is an associated committee of the organisation committee.

chair, Krishan Aggarwal (c)
council chair, Professor Philp Banfield (c)
president, Professor Martin McKee (c)
chair of the representative body, Latifa Patel (c)
treasurer, Trevor Pickersgill (c)
council deputy chair, Emma Runswick (c)
Jeeves Wijesuriya (c)
Rob Barnett (c)
Rebecca Acres

Equality article illustration
Develop your skills as a committee member

Take part in one of our free courses designed to give you the right skills to:

  • break down equality and inclusion bias (CPD-accredited)
  • value difference and inclusivity
  • live our BMA behaviour principles.
Find out more


The committee meets two times a year to consider the latest governance issues affecting the association and approve standing orders. A third meeting may be called by the committee for urgent issues prior to the ARM.

Meeting dates:

  • No meetings currently scheduled.

All meetings take place from 10am to 5pm either virtually or at BMA House.



Election to the organisation committee is closed.


Get in touch

For more information, please email [email protected]

handshake illustration
Women at the BMA

The BMA is working to meet the challenges that women face in the medical profession.

Stand for a BMA committee and be part of this change.

Find out more