Medical book awards

The BMA medical book awards takes place annually to recognise outstanding contributions to medical literature.

Location: UK
Audience: All doctors
Updated: Monday 19 April 2021
BMA library article illustration of a book
Applications closed

Applications to the awards are now closed. Winners will be announced in September 2021.

See winners from 2019 medical book awards


Award categories

Category Topics included
Anaesthesia, critical care and emergency medicine Anaesthesia; critical care medicine; emergency medicine
Basic and clinical sciences and research Anatomy; biochemistry; genetics; microbiology; molecular biology; physiology; pharmacology; statistics; research practice
Good medical practice Ethics; history of medicine; medical education; communication; writing skills; dictionaries; directories etc; medico-politics; medico-legal medicine; non-clinical books aimed at the general public; management
Hospital medicine Cardiology; endocrinology; gastroenterology; haematology; dermatology; neurology; respiratory; rheumatology; nephrology; medical ophthalmology; radiology; palliative care; geriatrics; genito-urinary medicine
Obstetrics and gynaecology Obstetrics and gynaecology; reproduction medicine; fetal medicine
Oncology All aspects of oncology and haematological oncology
Paediatrics and child health Paediatrics and child health
Pathology Pathology and histopathology
Popular medicine Clinical books aimed at the general public
Primary care General practice; occupational health; community care; social medicine; general medicine; diagnosis; nutrition; rehabilitation; therapeutics
Psychiatry Psychiatry; forensic medicine; substance misuse; mental health; counselling; psychology
Public health Public health; communicable diseases; toxicology; health promotion; disease prevention; health services; epidemiology
Surgery and surgical specialties General surgery; trauma and orthopaedics; plastic surgery; specialist surgical books; surgical ophthalmology; cardiothoracic; urology; vascular
2021 special category: COVID-19 COVID-19; health inequalities; research (including vaccines and public research)

If you have any questions about the awards, or wish to be informed when applications open, please contact the awards team.


Apply to be a reviewer

BMA medical book awards (MBA) reviewers have a key role in advising on the quality and suitability of each application.

MBA reviewers must be current BMA members. If non-members are interested in this role, please get in touch with the awards team on [email protected]; please note that we will prioritise BMA members to act as reviewers.

Reviewers should have experience in one or more of these areas:

  • medical and academic publishing
  • education and training
  • specialist interest in one or more areas of clinical practice
  • medical research and knowledge of recent developments in clinical practice
  • entries are allocated to reviewers based on their areas of expertise, professional background, and topics of interest.

The MBA reviewer role is voluntary and unremunerated although reasonable expenses are covered, and reviewers are permitted to retain e-copies of any entries they review.

If you would like to become a reviewer or have any further queries, please email the awards team on [email protected] by Wednesday 31 March.