ARM 2024 and committee elections

Get a seat at ARM, and learn about the committee elections taking place during and after the event. 

Location: UK
Audience: All doctors
Updated: Wednesday 10 July 2024
Hand and voting card article illustration

ARM representatives

Voting for divisional representatives to ARM 2024 has now closed. To view the results please go to: 


Please note constraints will be applied to these elections in accordance with the BMA articles and byelaws;

  • 31 (2) In any one year where a division is entitled to elect two representatives, not more than one shall be in the same primary branch of practice as defined in bye-laws 56 (2) 2.2 and 58 (4).
  • 31 (3) In any one year where a division is entitled to elect three or more representatives not more than two shall be in the same primary branch of practice as defined in bye-laws 56 (2) 2.2 and 58 (4).

The following divisions were uncontested, if you submitted a nomination for one of these seats you will be contacted shortly to confirm your seat:

Divisions A-M

Ayrshire and Arran
Basingstoke and North Hampshire
Bath District
Bradford and Airedale
Cambridge, Huntingdon and Ely
City and Hackney
Clwyd North
Coventry & Warwickshire
East Surrey
Forth Valley
Isle of Man
Mid-Surrey, Kingston and Esher
Milton Keynes


Divisions N-Z
  • North Northumberland
  • Oldham
  • Ormskirk and Skelmersdale
  • Perth and Kinross
  • Renfrewshire
  • St Helens and Knowsley
  • Salisbury
  • Scunthorpe
  • Solihull
  • South Tyneside
  • South-West Durham
  • Stockport
  • Swindon
  • Tameside
  • Trafford
  • West and South-West Wales 
  • Derbyshire
  • Western Isles
  • Weston-Super-Mare
  • Wirral

The following divisions received no nominees, as per the byelaws these seats will now be allocated to the regional council:

  • Aldershot, Farnham and Frimley
  • Angus
  • Argyll and Bute
  • Caithness
  • Dunbartonshire
  • East Cumbria
  • Furness
  • Grimsby
  • Guernsey and Alderney
  • Hartlepool
  • Isle of Wight
  • Jersey
  • Mid-Downs
  • Northallerton
  • Orkney
  • Peterborough
  • Ross and Cromarty
  • Scottish Borders
  • Shetland
  • Sutherland
  • West Cumbria
  • West Norfolk and Wisbech
  • Wigtown

Contact us:

If you have any questions about these elections or require assistance, please contact [email protected] 


How to get a seat at ARM 2024

There are three routes for interested BMA members to use for attendance at the ARM:

  1. you can seek one of the 280 seats allocated to BMA divisions
  2. you can apply (via the regional councils in England and BMA national councils in the devolved nations) for division seats which the divisions have been unable to fill
  3. you can seek one of the seats allocated to your branch of practice.

For full details on getting a seat and availability, view the guide below.

ARM election results from 2023

voting illustration
Annual representative meeting

Email us if you have a question about:

Annual representative meeting