Pay scales for consultants in England

The basic pay scales for NHS consultants in England.

Location: England
Audience: Consultants
Updated: Saturday 1 July 2023
Wallet and notes illustration
International doctors new to the UK (IMGs)

Free BMA membership. We understand the importance of support and guidance when settling in the UK.

BMA membership is free to all doctors in their first year living in the UK.

Join now

The tables below list the basic pay scales for consultants in England, and the number of years of service needed to be completed by a consultant to be eligible for each point of the pay scale.

Consultants on the 2003 contract

Threshold Value £
1 (starting salary) 93,666
2 (after 1 year completed as consultant) 96,599
3 (after 2 years completed) 99,532
4 (after 3 years completed) 102,465
5 (after 4 years completed) 105,390
6 (after 9 years completed) 112,356
7 (after 14 years completed) 119,323
8 (after 19 years completed) 126,281

Consultants on the pre-2003 contract

Level Value £
Basic 77,769
1 83,334
2 88,900
3 94,464
4 100,810

Clinical excellence awards 2021 (existing LCEAs)

Level Value £
Level 1 3,016
Level 2 6,032
Level 3 9,048
Level 4 12,064
Level 5 15,080
Level 6 18,096
Level 7 24,128
Level 8 30,160
Level 9 36,192

2021 local clinical excellence awards (LCEAs)

From 1 April 2022, the minimum amount invested and paid annually in LCEAs per eligible full time equivalent (FTE) consultant within each employing organisation will be £7,900, not including national insurance and employer pension contributions.

This figure is used to determine an NHS employer’s funding commitment for their LCEA round in a given year. It does not mean that awards granted in that round will necessarily be of this value – this may vary depending on your employer’s agreed LCEA policy.


Further information

National awards have been subject to unilateral reform since 2022. They are now called National Clinical Impact Awards (NCIAs) and you can read more about them here.

Details of discretionary points, distinction awards and intensity supplements are available in the pay circular above.

Doctors appointed before 2003 who are on new contracts
will be able to find their pay scales in the pay circular above, annex A, section 2, p.16.