Last updated:

The medical ethics committee


The Medical Ethics Committee (MEC) is made up of BMA members from a wide range of specialties and experience and lay members who are experts in their field of theology, law and moral philosophy.

Read chair John Chisholm's speech to the 2016 Annual Representative's meeting


Our priorities

The Committee debates ethical issues on the relationship between the medical profession, the public and the state. It also liaises with the General Medical Council (GMC) on all matters of ethics affecting medical practice.

The Committee is supported by the Ethics Secretariat who also produce detailed guidance and discussion papers on a wide range of medico-ethical issues and offer individual ethical advice to members over the phone or email.


Who we are


Dr John Chisholm

Chief officers

  • President: Sir Al Aynsley-Green
  • Chair of the Representative Body: Dr Ian Wilson
  • Chair of Council: Dr Mark Porter
  • Treasurer: Dr Andrew Dearden

Elected by the Representative Body

  • Dr John Chisholm
  • Dr Beryl De Souza
  • Professor Baroness Ilora Finlay
  • Dr Zoe Greaves
  • Dr Steve Hajioff
  • Dr Surendra Kumar
  • Dr Heidi Mounsey

Elected by Council

  • Dr Mary McCarthy
  • Dr Jacky Davis
  • Dr Sally Winning

Appointed by Council

  • Professor Deborah Bowman
  • Sarah Elliston
  • Professor Bobbie Farsides
  • Claire Foster-Gilbert
  • Professor Robin Gill
  • Professor Ranaan Gillon
  • Professor Emily Jackson
  • David Lock QC


  • Dr Donald Batham
  • Dr Christopher Browning


  • General Medical Council: Mary Agnew
  • Royal College of Nursing: Dr Janet Holt


Our meetings

The Medical Ethics Committee will meet four times in the 2016-17 session on the following dates:

4 October 2016
6 December 2016
28 February 2017
10 May 2017

All meetings will take place at BMA House from 9am-5pm.

BMA House
Tavistock Square

For further information please email Martin Davies or call on 020 7383 6297.


Any questions?

Email us: [email protected]