Find out more about council elections for the UK, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Wales, including available seats, eligibility and voting information.

Location: UK
Audience: All doctors
Updated: Friday 17 July 2020
Ballot box article illustration


Elections to Scottish council have now concluded. Members were elected for a three year term.

The next elections will take place in 2023.


The confirmed candidates to date are listed below. The candidates will take up their roles as Scottish council representatives at the start of the next session following the (ARM) annual representative meeting.

See confirmed candidates

Confirmed representatives for GPs:

  • Angela Dixon
  • Iain Kennedy
  • Andrew Cowie
  • John Ip
  • Laura McBrearty
  • Patricia Moultrie
  • Paula Rogers
  • Nora Murray-Cavanagh

Confirmed representatives for consultants:

  • Ewan Olson
  • Carol Macmillan
  • Christopher Barrett
  • Richard Levin
  • Zahid Mahmood
  • Jacqui McMillan
  • Simon Barker
  • Vacant

Confirmed representatives for junior doctors:

  • Kanastana Yasotharan
  • Alisdair Gilmore
  • Lewis Hughes
  • Zack Hassan
  • Timothy Gray
  • Lailah Peel
  • John Patrick Kelly
  • Neil Jordan Ramsay

Confirmed representative for medical students:

  • Callum D George

Confirmed representative for retired members:

  • Philip Cachia

Confirmed representative for SAS doctors:

  • Thisara Weerasuriya

Confirmed representative for other branches of practice:

  • Charles Saunders

National seats:

  • Mary Anne Burrow
  • Graeme Eunson
  • Alan Robertson
  • Sue Robertson
  • Amy Small
  • Peter Terry

Northern Ireland

Elections to the Northern Ireland council took place in 2018. Members were elected for a three year term.

The next elections will take place in 2021. 


UK council

Elections for the Medico-legal committee and Patient liaison group (PLG) are now open for nominations and will close on Monday 6 July 2020.

All members may stand for election to these committees, which are for one vacancy for a period of three years (PLG) and three vacancies for a period of two years (Medico-legal).

The ballot opens for voting members of council on Monday 13 July 2020 and closes on 3 August 2020.

Find out more about committee elections and how to nominate yourself.



Elections for the Welsh council will open for nominations at 9am on Monday 6 July 2020 and will close at 12 noon on Friday 24 July 2020.

All members in Wales may stand for election to the 15 vacant seats.

The ballot will open for all BMA members at 9am on Monday 3 August 2020 and will close at 12 noon on Friday 14 August 2020.

Results will be announced on our website at 9am on 23 August 2020. Candidates will be emailed directly. 

Take part in the election