England International Northern Ireland Scotland Wales

Last updated:

RB chair wins anaesthetists' award

Anthea Mowat 2014
MOWAT: ‘Honoured and humbled to be recognised in this way'

The Association of Anaesthetists has awarded its Anniversary Medal 2018 to staff, associate specialist and specialty anaesthetist and BMA representative body chair Anthea Mowat.

The prestigious award was created in 2007 to recognise the exceptional service of British and Irish anaesthetists.

Association of Anaesthetists immediate-past president Paul Clyburn described Dr Mowat as an ‘exemplary role model for SAS doctors’.

‘She has achieved so much more than most of us during her medical career, showing her peers that being an SAS grade doctor should not be a barrier to excelling as a strong leader,’ he added.

Dr Mowat worked around Scotland after qualifying from Aberdeen medical school in 1982.

She took up a staff grade then associate specialist posts in Lincolnshire after a career break to care for her young family and mother.

She became the first SAS-grade doctor to chair a local negotiating committee and the RB, the latter of which she took up in 2016. She is only the second woman to hold the RB since 1832.

‘Despite all these achievements, Dr Mowat remains modest, down to earth, and is one of the nicest people you could wish to meet,’ said Dr Clyburn.

Dr Mowat said she was ‘honoured and humbled to be recognised in this way by the Association of Anaesthetists’.

Read more from Keith Cooper and follow on Twitter.