Last updated:

Award categories

Anaesthesia (including anaesthesia of specialties) and critical care

Basic and clinical sciences
Anatomy, biochemistry, genetics, microbiology, molecular biology, physiology, physical sciences

Basis of medicine
Ethics, history of medicine, communication, epidemiology, statistics, writing skills, research practice, dictionaries, directories etc

Non-surgical aspects of cardiology

Health and social care
Community care, health promotion, health prevention, management, health services, medico-politics, medico-legal medicine, social medicine

Internal medicine
Non-surgical aspects of endocrinology, gastroenterology, haematology, dermatology, respiratory medicine, rheumatology, nephrology, urology, ophthalmology etc. General medicine should go in Medicine, Specialist surgical books aspects to go in Surgical specialties.

General medicine, alternative medicine, diagnosis, nutrition, palliative care, pharmacology, rehabilitation, health care of the elderly

Non-surgical aspects of neurology

Obstetrics and gynaecology
Obstetrics and gynaecology (but books for the general public should go in the Popular medicine category), reproduction medicine, fetal medicine

All aspects of oncology and haematological oncology

Paediatrics and adolescent medicine

Pathology and histopathology

Popular medicine
Clinical books aimed at the general public. Non-clinical books aimed at the geneal public go in Basis of medicine

Primary health care
General practice, occupational health

Psychiatry, forensic medicine, substance misuse, mental health, counselling, psychology

Public health
Public health, communicable diseases, sexually transmitted diseases and toxicology

All aspects of radiology

General surgery, trauma and orthopaedics, plastic surgery, A&E medicine (surgery of specialties should go with the Surgical Specialties category)

Surgical specialties
Specialist surgical aspects of the replaced internal medicine categories

NB: Texts on nursing or dentistry will not be accepted. Serials are likewise not eligible for entry although annual updates will be considered.