Medical Students Committee

Last updated:

Northern Ireland Medical Students Committee membership

The committee includes two representatives from each academic years.  

First year

  • Colleen Daly
  • Alexandra Smyth

Second year

  • Colleen Daly
  • Aaron Campbell

Third year

  • Grace Richmond
  • Fergal Grannell

Fourth year

  • Ioan Llwyd Hughes
  • Shane Joseph O'Hara

Fifth year

  • Claire Palmer
  • Patrick Leeson


  • Aidan Murray (second year)

Deputy QUB MSC rep

  • Aisling McCarthy (fourth year)

Each year the committee elects office bearers. For 2019/20 these are:

  • NIMSC chair – Mr Leo Mansell (fifth year)
  • NIMSC deputy chair – Aisling McCarthy (fourth year)

Other members

  • Mind Matters - Jordan Bamford / Chloe Gilkinson
  • Scrubs - Dharmesh Valand    

Co-opted members 

  • Miss Ellen Adair
  • Mr Fearghal Hosty-Blaney
  • Miss Anna Mary Murray
  • Miss Ellen Mary Skelly 

MSC UK co-chairs - Gurdas Singh / Chris Smith
SMSC co-chairs - David Clayton / Cory Stratton
WMSC chair - Rhiannon Murphy Jones

The Northern Ireland medical students committee (NIMSC) is always keen to hear the views of medical students on the work that it is doing and what its priorities should be for the future. You can email the chair of NIMSC, Leo Mansel at [email protected].