Medical Ethics Committee

Last updated:

Membership of the Medical Ethics committee (MEC)

The committee is comprised of the chief officers (ex-officio), seven members elected by the representative body, three members and two deputy members elected by council, and up to eight external members appointed by council in disciplines such as law, moral philosophy, natural sciences or the health professions. Representatives from the General Medical Council and the Royal College of Nursing sit on the committee as observers.

Chief officers

  • President: Professor Raanan Gillon
  • Chair of the Representative Body: Dr Helena McKeown
  • Chair of Council: Dr Chaand Nagpaul
  • Treasurer: Dr Trevor Pickersgill

Elected by the Representative Body

  • Professor Baroness Ilora Finlay
  • Dr John Chisholm
  • Dr Surendra Kumar
  • Dr Helena McKeown
  • Dr Jan Wise
  • Dr Hannah Barham-Brown
  • Dr Penelope Toff

Elected by Council

To be confirmed. 

Appointed by Council

  • Professor Bobbie Farsides
  • Professor Robin Gill
  • Professor Ranaan Gillon
  • Professor Emily Jackson
  • David Lock QC
  • Dr Mary Neal
  • Professor Richard Huxtable
  • Professor Gurch Randhawa


To be confirmed. 


  • General Medical Council: Mary Agnew
  • Royal College of Nursing: Dr Janet Holt