Medical Academics Committee

Last updated:

Overview of the Medical Academic Staff Committee (MASC)

Doctors working in academic medicine perform vital functions for the NHS and healthcare in general. Their roles include a combination of teaching (medical and other healthcare students), research, and specialist clinical care. Medical academic staff contribute at a local, national and international level and are leaders in health improvement.

The Medical Academic Staff Committee (MASC) is the BMA committee that represents all medically qualified teachers and research workers that hold contracts of employment (including honorary contracts) from a university, a medical school, the Medical Research Council or other non-NHS institutions engaged in medical research. 

MASC considers and acts upon matters of concern to these groups of doctors.  It also advocates on behalf of academic medicine generally and works with employers and others to ensure that there are sufficient incentives to attract and keep doctors in academic medicine.

Read our latest newsletter


Our priorities

View our priorities and read about all our other work.


Who we are


The MASC co-chairs are Michael Rees and Peter Dangerfield.

Deputy chairs

  • David Katz
  • Marcia Schofield
  • David Strain

Find out who sits on the committee


Our policies

See the policies our conference has made over the years.

Chair's speech at the ARM

Watch Michael Rees' speech at ARM 2018


Our meetings

The Committee meets four times a year and elects a small executive to take forward issues between committee meetings.

Who can come

These meetings are open to committee members only.

Meeting dates for the 2018-19 session:

  • Friday 14 September 2018, 10.30am - 4pm, BMA House
  • Friday 14 December 2018, 10.30pm - 4pm, BMA House
  • Friday 24 May 2019, 10.30am - 4pm, BMA House

More information

For more information email [email protected] or call 020 7383 6264.



COMAR is the annual conference of MASC. COMAR 2019 will take place on Friday 5 April 2019 at BMA House.

See the highlights from the 2018 conference which took place on 20 April 2018.