Medical Academics Committee

Last updated:

Membership of the medical academics committee (MASC)

The members of MASC are elected by our annual conference, the Conference of Medical Academic Representatives.

Observers are also appointed by other BMA committees and relevant external organisations such as the Conference of Postgraduate Medical Education Deans (CoPMED), the National Association of Clinical Tutors (NACT) and the Academy of Medical Educators (AME).



The MASC co-chairs are David Strain and Peter Dangerfield. 

Deputy chairs

  • David Katz
  • Michael Rees

Medical academic representatives 2019-20

Members of MASC

Marcia Schofiled*
Mary Anne Burrow
Peter Dangerfield*
Mark Gabbay*
David Katz*
Colin MacDougall
Sarah Mills
Sharif Ismail*
Samuel Parker
Michael Rees*
Yanushi Wijeyeratne*
Carmen Soto*
Jasper Mogg
Ella Mi
Kieran McGlade
Robert McKinley
David Strain*
Bala Karunakaran*

*Members of the executive


There is currently a vacant seat on the committee for a Welsh medical academic. If you are interested, please contact [email protected].