General Practitioners Committee

Last updated:

GPC UK membership 2019-20


The GPC UK chair is Richard Vautrey.

Richard Vautrey, GPC chair 2017

Richard is a GP partner in Leeds and has represented GPs in Calderdale, Kirklees, Leeds and Wakefield on the GPC since 2001.


Policy leads

Clinical and prescribing – Preeti Shukla

Commissioning and provider development/working at scale – Chandra Kanneganti 

Latest update

Stay informed about our work as a committee.

Follow @BMA_GP

Sign up to our weekly newsletter

Contracts and regulation –Julius Parker

Dispensing and pharmacy – David Bailey

Education, training and workforce – Samira Anane

Information management, technology and information governance –Anu Rao

Premises and practice finance –Gaurav Gupta

Representation – Bruce Hughes 


Non-voting members

Ex officio

The President, Professor Raanan Gillion
The Chair of the Representative Body, Helena McKeown
The Chair of Council, Chaand Nagpaul
The Treasurer, Trevor Pickersgill


Voting Members

Ex officio

The Chair of the UK LMC Conference, Mark Corcoran
The Deputy Chair of the UK LMC Conference, Katie Bramall-Stainer
The Chair of GPC Scotland, Andrew Buist
The Chair of GPC Wales, Philip White
The Chair of GPC Northern Ireland, Alan Stout

Ten elected by the Annual Representative Meeting 2019


Surendra Kumar 
Annapurna Rao
Zoe Greaves 
Clare Gerada
Fay Wilson
Karthik Bhat 
Daniel Djemal


Stuart Blake


Om Aggarwal
Bethan Roberts


Forty-three elected regionally

(see appendix 1 below)

One representative of a constituency if an existing representative from that constituency is elected chair of the GPC

One representative at LMC Conference who has never before held membership of the GPC:

Sarah Westerbeek

Six elected by the 2019 LMC conference

Rachel Ali
Samira Anane
Paul Cundy 
Chandra Kanneganti
Krishna Kasaraneni
Denise McFarlane
Timothy Morton


Voting nominees of other bodies

GP Trainees Subcommittee
(2 representatives)
Zoe Greaves
Sandesh Gulhane
Sessional GPs Subcommittee
(4 representatives)
Ben Molyneux
Krishan Aggarwal
Nicola Kemp
Kim Rollinson
Medical Women’s Federation Rose McCullagh
Medical Practitioners' Union
(2 representatives)
Jackie Applebee
Deborah Colvin
British International Doctors Association Rakesh Sharma


Under-represented groups (voting members)

Prison doctors Wayne Sturley
GP within first five years post CCT Sarah Westerbeek


Non-voting nominees of other bodies and observers

BMA Consultants Committee
(1 representative)
Gary Wannan
BMA Junior Doctors Committee
(1 representative)
Nathalie Rodriguez McCullough
BMA Public Health Medicine Committee
(1 representative)
Peter English
BMA Staff, Associate Specialists and Speciality Doctor Committee< Farid Ahmed
(Radhakrishna Shanbhag, deputy)
British Dental Association
(1 representative)
Nick Stolls
Royal College of General Practitioners
(2 representatives)
Frances Cranfield
Martin Marshall
BMA Patient Liaison Group
(1 representative)
Lynne Jones
Northern Ireland GPC (1 representative) Frances O’Hagan


Appendix 1

GPC regional constituency representatives 2019-2020

Region Constituency Representative Year tenure ends
Eastern Norfolk/Suffolk/Great Yarmouth & Waveney Ian Hume 2021
Eastern Cambridgeshire/Bedfordshire Diana Hunter 2022
Eastern Hertfordshire Violaine Carpenter 2022
Eastern N & S Essex Brian Balmer 2022
London Barking & Havering/Redbridge & Waltham Forest/City & E London Terry John 2022
London Enfield & Haringey/Camden & Islington/ Barnet/Kensington & Chelsea/Westminster> Farah Jameel 2021
London Hillingdon/Brent & Harrow/Ealing, Hammersmith & Hounslow Michelle Drage 2020
London Lewisham, Southwark & Lambeth/Bexley & Greenwich/Bromley Pamela Martin 2020
London Merton, Sutton & Wandsworth/Kingston & Richmond Richard van Mellaerts 2021
North West Cumbria & Lancs Preeti Shukla 2022
North West Sefton/Liverpool/Wirral Rob Barnett 2021
North West Cheshire/Mid Mersey Ivan Camphor 2020
North West Salford & Trafford/Manchester/Stockport Siobhan Brennan 2021
North West Wigan & Bolton/Bury & Rochdale/W Pennine Alan Dow 2022
North East Northumberland/Newcastle & N Tyneside/Gateshead & S Tyneside/Sunderland Roger Ford 2020
North East Durham/Cleveland Julie-Anne Birch 2021
Northern Ireland Northern Ireland Alan Stout 2021
Scotland Ayrshire & Arran/Borders/Dumfries & Galloway/Lanarkshire Chris Black 2022
Scotland Grampian/Highland/Orkney/
Shetland/Western Isles
Iain Kennedy 2021
Scotland Glasgow & Clyde John Ip 2020
Scotland Forth Valley/Fife /Lothian/Tayside Andrew Cowie 2021
South & West Gloucs/Avon Tom Yerburgh 2020
South & West Wilts/Dorset Andrew Purbrick 2020
South & West Somerset/N & E Devon Mark Sanford-Wood 2021
South & West S & W Devon/Cornwall & Isles of Scilly Bruce Hughes 2022
South Central Bucks/Oxfordshire Matt Mayer 2020
South Central Berks/N&E Hamps John Rawlinson 2020
South Central Hamps & IoW Nigel Watson 2022
Coastal South East Kent Gaurav Gupta 2022
Coastal South East E Sussex/W Sussex Russell Brown 2021
Coastal South East Surrey & Croydon Julius Parker 2022
East Midlands,
Yorks & Humber
E Yorks/N Lincs/Lincs Kieran Sharrock 2022
East Midlands,
Yorks & Humber
Dean Eggitt 2020
East Midlands,
Yorks & Humber
Derbys/Notts Peter Holden 2021
East Midlands,
Yorks & Humber
Leics & Rutland/Northants Jonathan Ireland 2020
East Midlands,
Yorks & Humber
N Yorks/Bradford Brian McGregor 2020
East Midlands,
Yorks & Humber
Richard Vautrey 2022
Wales Gwent/Bro Taf/Morgannwg David Bailey 2021
Wales Dyfed Powys/N Wales Peter Horvath-Howard 2020
West Midlands Herefordshire/Worcs/
Simon Parkinson 2021
West Midlands N Staffs/S Staffs/Shropshire Mary McCarthy 2020
West Midlands Birmingham/Solihull Robert Morley 2021
West Midlands Sandwell/Walsall/
Uzma Ahmad 2020