Wales Progress your career

Last updated:

Clinical Teacher of the Year


Dr Heidi Phillips

Heidi has worked as a local GP for many years and joined the Graduate Entry Medicine (GEM) program at Swansea University Medical School in 2004, where she quickly developed a passion for medical education. She undertook a postgraduate diploma in medical education and a Masters of Research.

Over the years, she has held several additional roles including deputy program director, admissions director and director of quality. She played a key role in helping the GEM team and the program achieve General Medical Council approval in 2014. Her contribution to GEM and the university was recognised in her appointment as Associate Professor in 2018.

Heidi has also led the development of the primary care Academy - an innovative approach to encouraging students to learn and work in rural areas through a primary care lens. Finally, in recognition of her work and expertise, she was appointed in 2018 to the Board of the newly constituted HEIW.


About the award

This award celebrates clinical teaching excellence in Wales. The award is available for a member of staff who has made an outstanding contribution to the supervision, training or teaching of medical students in an undergraduate or post-graduate clinical setting. Nominees need not be medically qualified.

The award recognises excellence in the following areas:

  • Leadership in teaching or assessment
  • Development of course or curriculum design
  • Scholarship in teaching
  • Student support

The judges will make their decision based on a submission that should describe the quality and extent of the teaching contribution.

For this award, each participating institution (as the nominees’ employer) shall submit three nominations to the judging panel. Normally, each will be the winner of one of the institution’s own awards within the previous 12 months.

HEIW is able to submit parallel nominations for both primary and secondary care. Each nominee will be recognised during the awards ceremony.

Back to 2019 winners