Progress your career Wales

Last updated:

Clinical teacher of the year awards

About the Awards

Clinical teachers play a pivotal role in the medical workforce; driving innovation, educating our future doctors, and providing clinical leadership and expertise to ensure high-quality care to patients across the health service.

BMA Cymru Wales, with BMJ, established the Clinical Teacher of the Year awards to recognise the critical importance of clinical teaching in hospitals and the community, and to celebrate the excellent teaching standards in Wales.

The awards are hosted by the medical/clinical schools at Cardiff and Swansea, as well as the Wales Deanery, with the evening culminating in the overall Clinical Teacher of the Year Award chosen from the winners of the individual institutions’ awards.

The 2018 awards will take place at the National Museum Wales on Tuesday 13th March.


Wales awards ceremony for the clinical teacher awards 2017 winners 
Winners 2017 


  • 2017 winners

    The winners of the 2017 Clinical Teacher of the Year Awards were revealed at an event at the National Museum, Wales, on 29 March 2017. The nominations were of an exceptional standard and were selected by a prestigious panel of judges. And the winners are…

    Clinical teacher of the year

    Rising star

    Teaching and learning innovation

    Outstanding achievement

    The Sherman Fund Award


  • Participating institutions

    • Cardiff University Medical School
    • Swansea University Medical School
    • The Wales Deanery


  • Nominations

    Up to three nominees from each of the institutions' internal processes will go through to the Clinical Teacher of the Year shortlist.

    Up to two nominees from each institution will go through to the Rising Star, and Teaching and Learning Innovation shortlist, while one nominee from each will be admitted to the Outstanding Achievement shortlist.


  • Judging

    A panel of judges selected by BMA Cymru Wales and BMJ assess the nominees for each of the award categories and choose the winners. The panel may decide to make no award where, in their opinion, it is appropriate to do so.

    The 2017 judges were:

    Dr Dean Jenkins
    Dr Melanie Jones
    Professor Andrew Finlay
    Professor Parveen Kumar
    Professor Ian Curran


  • Prizes

    The Clinical Teacher of the Year will receive £500 worth of products from BMJ or a donation to a charitable fund of their choice. The winners from the remaining three categories will receive £250 each of BMJ products or a donation to their charitable fund.

    All of the winners will be presented with a specially commissioned sculpture from BMA Cymru Wales reflecting their award category.


  • 2016 winners

    Clinical teacher of the year award
    Dr Harsha Reddy

    Outstanding achievement award
    Professor Phil Smith

    Rising star
    Dr Samantha Hibbitts

    Sherman foundation fund
    Rhiannon Murphy-Jones

    Teaching and learning innovation
    Dr Liz Forty

  • Previous awards galleries

    Experience previous clinical teacher awards ceremonies with our galleries from 2012 - 2017.

    View the Flickr galleries


  • Contact us

    For further information, contact BMA Cymru Wales Media and Public Affairs Department.

    Tel: 029 2047 4646 

    Email: [email protected] or [email protected]

    Twitter: @BMACymru