Last updated:

BMA Awards and honours

ARM Awards ceremony 2016

BMA honours are awarded in recognition of a member’s distinguished and notable service to the association at any level, not only to those holding high profile offices. The awards exist to recognise those who have contributed at local, regional or national level, focussing on commitment and achievement, not only time served or office held. 

The deadline for nominations is 12pm on 16 December 2019. The completed nomination forms and any associated references required should be sent to council secretariat Olivia O'Mahoney ([email protected]). Please read the BMA awards and guidelines criteria before completing the nomination form


Association Medal

The Association Medal is awarded to such members who have given outstanding and sustained national service to the BMA in two or more constituencies, one of which should be national, (Bye-law 116). For example, this could be someone who has been a member and/or office bearer of a committee representing doctors in their line of practice (GP, consultant, junior doctor, specialty doctor etc), and a member of a national, or of UK council, or a combination of committees or activities serving not simply their colleagues but the medical profession more widely. 


Fellowship of the Association

A Fellowship is awarded to members whose services in the interests of the association and of the profession have been distinguished and notable and merit special recognition, (Bye-law 117). A Fellowship is often awarded to those who have made sustained contributions at a local level. Those receiving a Fellowship are often the otherwise “unsung heroes” among BMA members who have consistently, over many years, worked on local committees (eg LMCs, LNCs, divisions, regional councils). The Fellowship recognises those who would potentially not be eligible for the Association Medal, but their contribution is no less important than those achieving merit nationally.


Distinguished Service Award (staff / lay members)

The Distinguished Service Award may be awarded in recognition of distinguished, outstanding, and exceptional services to the association by non-medical personnel (not a long service award), (Bye-law 118). Although this is generally an award for staff members, non-doctors who are not directly employed by the BMA but who have nonetheless made exceptional contributions to the work of the BMA are also eligible. 


Gold Medal

The Gold Medal may be awarded to any person or persons who shall have conspicuously raised the character of the medical profession by scientific work, by extraordinary professional services, or by special services rendered to the BMA, (Bye-law 114 and standing order of council).

The Gold Medal may be awarded to those previously in receipt of other BMA awards, who have gone on to give further truly exceptional service to members, the Association and the profession, but it also exists to recognise other outstanding individuals in the medical profession or contributing to medicine more widely. 


Honorary vice-presidency

An Honorary vice-presidency may be awarded to any member for extraordinary and outstanding service to the association, (Bye-law 49 and 115).

In practice, it is usually awarded to those who have held chief officer positions (although it is not confined to those positions) and who otherwise may not have been recognised by one of the other awards.


Awards presentation

Recipients of all awards will be invited, along with a guest, to the installation of the president ceremony, which is expected to take place at the ARM (annual representative meeting) in Edinburgh to receive their awards.


Award holders

The award-holders for the 2018-19 session are:

Association medal

  • Michelle Drage
  • William Marshall
  • Raj Nirula
  • Jan Wise
  • John D Woods
  • Guy Watkins


  • Paul Cundy
  • Mary Green
  • Ian Hume
  • Ellen McCourt
  • Mike Parks
  • Robert Morley
  • Ashok Pathak
  • Simon Poole
  • Penelope Ann Thorpe

Distinguished service award

  • Gordon Fletcher
  • Darshna Gohil
  • Richard Griffiths
  • Christina Neeley