Last updated:

Leadership at the BMA

The BMA is seeking a new Treasurer. The deadline for nominations is 12 noon on Friday 19 April 2019. Find out more.

Browse biographies of our leadership and team of executive directors, who work towards objectives set by BMA Council


  • Chief officers

    Council chair

    Portrait of Chaand Nagpaul

    Chaand Nagpaul


    Acting representative body chair

    Helena McKeown portrait smile 16x9

    Helena McKeown



    Professor Dinesh Bhugra CBE


    Interim treasurer

    Trevor Pickersgill BMA council member

    Dr Trevor Pickersgill


  • Leadership team

    National director Northern Ireland

    Claire Armstrong


    Director of Member Relations

    Chris Darke

    Chris Darke


    Director of Corporate Development

    Nicky Jayesinghe

    Nicky Jayesinghe


    Director of Policy

    Raj Jethwa

    Raj Jethwa


    Director of HR

    John Macey Interim director of human resources

    John Macey


    Director of Finance and Corporate Services

    Patrick Murphy
BMA staff

    Patrick Murphy


    Director of Engagement and Communications

    Deborah Oliver, Director of engagement & communications

    Deborah Oliver


    National director Wales

    Rachel Podolak

    Rachel Podolak


    National director Scotland

    Jill Vickerman, BMA Scottish Secretary

    Jill Vickerman


    Director of Strategy and Insight

    Christine Fielden

    Christine Yeates