Last updated:

Welsh Council terms of reference and remit

To consider any and all matters of specific relevance to the medical profession and healthcare in Wales. Welsh Council shall determine policy and action where the application is exclusive to Wales.

Welsh Council (whether carrying delegated powers or not) shall take all reasonable steps to implement policy decisions of the Association and no action shall be taken by Welsh Council or any sub-committee, which may affect materially the interests of another part of the profession without full prior consultation with the parties concerned.


Members ex-officio

With voting rights – the Chairmen of the Welsh Central Consultants Committee, General Practitioner Committee Wales, Welsh Staff Grades and Associate Specialists Committee, Welsh Committee for Public Health Medicine and Community Health, Welsh Junior Doctors Committee, Welsh Medical Academic Staff Committee, Forum of Welsh Local Negotiating Committees, and Welsh Medical Students Committee.

Without voting rights – the President of the BMA, Chairman of UK Council, Chairman of the Representative Body, the Treasurer and Members of UK Council whose electoral zone is Wales, limited to the duration of their UK office and while having a registered address in Wales.


Members Elected or Appointed by the Representative Body



Members Elected or Appointed by the Council



Members Otherwise Elected or Appointed

With voting rights: 15 directly-elected members who shall, by the application of electoral constraints, broadly reflect the distribution of the profession in Wales between:

(a) those engaged or employed wholly or mainly in the following nine professional groupings: general practice, hospital consultants, staff grade doctors and associate specialists, doctors in training grades, academic medicine and/or research, medical students, public and community health medicine, retired members, and Armed Forces members plus those members in practice but not covered by the other specified professional groupings; and

(b) the three principal geographical regions of Wales, namely North Wales, Mid and West Wales, and South East Wales; together with up to three co-opted members who shall offer Welsh Council such ongoing expertise that cannot otherwise be met by the ex-officio and directly elected membership.

Without voting rights: a number, to be determined by Welsh Council, of observer members.



Welsh Council normally meets four times a year: September, December, February and June.

The Executive Committee of Welsh Council or Chairman's Group (comprising the Chairman of Welsh Council, and Craft Committee Chairmen) meets on an ad hoc basis and deals with urgent business arising between these times.